Fine Print

See what you've agreed to, in one list.

What Airbnb's terms say

D privacy grade · airbnb.com · Travel & local

Airbnb's terms of service and privacy policy have 16 rated points: 1 serious, 6 bad, 6 worth knowing and 3 good. 10 apply whenever you use the site, signed in or not; 6 only once you have an account.

I have a Airbnb account I only visit it Adds Airbnb to your list and compares it with the other sites you use.
Signed in or not

Whenever you use Airbnb

Bad 5

  • Third-party cookies are used for statistics

    This service uses third-party cookies for statistics

    Where it says this ↗
  • Your personal data may be sold or otherwise transferred as part of a bankruptcy proceeding or other type of financial transaction

    The service can sell or otherwise transfer your personal data as part of a bankruptcy proceeding or other type of financial transaction.

    Where it says this ↗
  • Some personal data may be kept for business interests or legal obligations

    Where it says this ↗
  • Your personal data may be disclosed to comply with government requests without notice to you

    Created by Docbot version v3

    Where it says this ↗
  • You waive your right to a class action

    You waive your right to a class action.

    Docbot

    Where it says this ↗

Worth knowing 4

Good 1

  • When the service wants to make a material change to its terms, you are notified at least 30 days in advance

    Created by Docbot version v3

    Where it says this ↗
With an account

If you have a Airbnb account

Serious 1

  • You cannot delete your account of this service

    You can not delete your account. You can only beg AirBnB to do it for you: "If you want to permanently close and delete your account, contact us." In that case AirBnB will insist that you to provide further personal information to "We will verify your identity for security purposes before accepting the deletion request." which is up to them to accept or insist more proof for their records. So effectively, you can not delete your account from this service. This happened to me and the account still exists as I refused to keep sending them more and more documents just close the account while the original reason for closing the account was them violating my privacy.

    Where it says this ↗

Bad 1

Worth knowing 2

  • This service will continue using anonymized user-generated content after erasure of personal information

    Airbnb will continue using anonymized user-generated content even after account deletion

    Where it says this ↗
  • Banned users are prohibited from creating a new account

    Users who have been permanently banned from this service are not allowed to re-register under a new account

    Where it says this ↗

Good 2

The documents

Ratings by ToS;DR volunteers; they can lag behind the current terms. Not legal advice.